Posted by: goingfaraway | September 13, 2010

The Do or Die List

One of my roommates in college had a habit of making “do or die” lists for herself. I have created my  do or die list for this final week of preparation, and I’m trying not to be intimidated by the length of the list or the things on the list. It seems like every time I cross one thing off, I think of two or three more things to add.

The biggest and most frightening thing so far? Competing in a 1/2 Ironman race in Tawas, Michigan. I finished in 6 1/2 hours without any injuries, and I actually had fun!

It was worth every hour of training!

I guess compared to the race most of the other things on “the list” are rather dull….but not everything can be exciting, and if I don’t pack my suitcase, the next several months will be difficult and cold. I am trying to stay balanced between spending time with people and preparing for departure. The problem is, it’s much more fun to hang out with my sister than it is to sort through winter clothing. I know everything will be done in time. I’m just trying to be wise in how I spend my waking hours.

So, what’s on the do or die list for tomorrow? Pack, print photos for the prayer wall, pack some more, disassemble my bike for packing, go to the bank, and guess what….more packing.

Thank you for praying me through this preparation stage.

Responses

  1. I am so proud of you my friend! Love you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

