Posted by: goingfaraway | September 22, 2010

Trousers, toasties, and harvesting celery

Celery Harvest

The harvest

I’ve been in Ireland for 5 days, and so far I don’t think I’ve said or done anything culturally offensive. Hopefully I can keep it that way. As long as I can remember that I’m supposed to get collected from the train station rather than picked up, I should be fine. The subtle and, okay, maybe not so subtle nuances of Irish English are fascinating to me, and I love listening to the rhythmic ups and downs of the language.

A brief Irish – English dictionary:

pants = underwear, so watch what you say

trousers = pants

jam = jelly

jelly = jell-o

collect = pick up

grand = fine, ok, no problem

toasties = grilled cheese, or any grilled sandwich

biscuits, bikkies, digestives = cookies

creche = nursery

boot = car trunk

Since arriving on Saturday I’ve met many of the people I will be doing life with in the coming year. Sunday afternoon was service at Cornerstone; Monday I had classes in Dublin; Tuesday morning I minded the children during the ladies’ Bible study, and in the evening went to a small group gathering. Already Cornerstone church has blessed me in wonderful ways. I am certain that in the months to come I will receive much more than I could ever give.

Yesterday I walked to Ardgillan Castle (yes, I live by a castle), and on the way saw some farmers harvesting what looked like celery. I’ve never seen celery being harvested before, but I guess somebody has to do it. Kind of random, but it got me thinking about the GREAT HARVEST, the Lord’s harvest. The fields are ready, but the workers are few.

“Open your eyes and look at the fields! They are ripe for harvest.” John 4:35

May we keep our eyes wide open and work faithfully in His field.

Responses

  1. Hi Again! I am “that-lady-that-has-a-sister(Linda Kleist)-that-knew-your-Mom-in-college”! Where are you located again on the Emerald Isle? The Lord willing, we hope to travel there within the year(our family and friends put $$ together to send us there!)

    I AM VERY glad for your “clarifications” in regards to Irish word meanings…I for sure would have said..”do you have a place that I can dry my pants!!!!” That would have given them a good laugh!!

    God bless you!

  2. Ummm…one more Irish language clarification you might like to know, if you haven’t figured it out already! Don’t ask for a “ride”, meaning you need to be taken somewhere; ask for a “lift”! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

