Posted by: goingfaraway | May 4, 2011

Refreshed.

Dun Laoghaire Pier

Over Easter weekend I was whisked away by my dear friend, Eileen, for a few days of rest and relaxation in Dun Laoghaire. We met up with 2 of her friends, Ivy & Florence. It was a proper girly weekend, complete with chocolate and laughter to the point of tears. After a day I officially dubbed the 3 ladies my mother hens. We wandered the beautiful Mt. Usher Gardens in Co. Wicklow, soaked up some sunshine, and spent time just praying together. Eileen’s love for Jesus is so tangible and infectious…I was really encouraged by her faith. I am thankful for women like her who pour time and energy into their spiritual daughters.

Amazing blooms at Mt. Usher Gardens

The Three Mother Hens

“Older women likewise are to be reverent in their behavior….teaching what is good, so that they may encourage the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be sensible, pure…..kind…so that the word of God will not be dishonored.”

Titus 2:3-5

Mentoring is so darn biblical. Why doesn’t it happen more often? It takes time and energy, but it is so rewarding. If you’ve never mentored a younger believer, or if you have never been mentored, you’re missing out on so much. We have good things to teach each other. [This is just a mini version of my mentoring soapbox. I could go on, but lucky for you I’ve stayed up so late it’s tomorrow already, so I’m going to bed. I’ll save my sermon for another day.]

Peace, love and dark chocolate.

Kara

Leave a Reply

Categories

