Posted by: goingfaraway | June 4, 2011

Frosty

Every day if you go to the harbor you are bound to find the Skerries Frosties out for a swim. 11am M-F, 12pm on weekends – 365 days a year. No wimps allowed. No wetsuits either. It’s taken me all of these months to gather up the courage to join them. Today I finally did it! The fact that it was 70 degrees and the sun was shining definitely made it easier. Until I hit the water. Wow. I was totally enveloped by salty coldness. I decided to keep swimming no matter what. I managed to stay in for 40 minutes. You never really warm up when the water is just 50 degrees. I didn’t realize how cold I was until I got out and couldn’t feel my towel as I dried myself off. It was a great experience, and I’m sure I’ll do it again. My gym membership expires on Monday, so the Irish Sea will have to suffice.

Leave a Reply

Categories

