Posted by: goingfaraway | June 16, 2011

Sometimes manna is green

It was a Friday. The numbers in the ol’ bank o count had dwindled to double digits. Rent would be due in a few days and there was no way I would have the full amount on time. I kept telling myself “God knows. He’s got it taken care of.” I partially believed what I was telling myself, but I thought that if I said it enough times I would fully believe it. Do you ever do that?

At WIRED youth fellowship that night Jono had planned our discussion around Matthew 6. Have you read it? Well, just in case you haven’t, or even if you have, here are some highlights….

“But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven….for where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. You cannot serve God and wealth. For this reason I say to you, do not be worried about your life, as to what you will eat or what you will drink; nor for your body, as to what you will put on….Look at the birds of the air….your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they? And who of you by worrying can add a single hour to his life?….If God clothes the grass of the field, which is alive today and tomorrow is thrown into the furnace, will he not much more clothe you? Seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.”

Okay. According to these truths, God would be taking care of my rent. How? Not quite sure. Was I supposed to straight up ask for a loan from a friend, or ask Laura to give me an extension? Hm. That night I asked the kids to pray that I would not worry about my finances, and be patient for God to provide.

Less than 24 hours later I was skyping with my dad – he told me Mom was off visiting a friend. I brought him up to date on life, told him I didn’t know where rent was coming from, but God would come through. At the same time dad & I were talking, our friend asked my mom how my finances were. Almost before Mom could answer, a check for nearly the same amount as my rent was written and placed in Mom’s hands. That afternoon I checked my email and one particular subject line caught my eye. It read: “green manna.” Could it be? I was so happy and surprised when I read that my rent had been taken care of! I couldn’t wait to tell the youth group how God had answered their prayer for me. He is Jehovah Jirah – my provider – the same God who gave manna in the wilderness every day for years and years.

And this, my dear reader, is why Matthew 6:25-34 is often titled in our Bibles “the cure for anxiety.”  If I really believe God’s word, that it’s true for me today, then surely I don’t need to waste my time worrying. Again and again I am surprised when God provides exactly what I need at the perfect moment – never too late, never too much or too little. Always just right. You would think that after all God has done for me, and his consistency in giving me what I need when I need it, the reaction of surprise would have worn off. I’m still learning! I pray that this experience will always remind me to expect great things from God.

That’s all for the moment. More stories to come.

Love (because He does),

Kara

Responses

  1. This is so awesome, Kara! I can so relate with your last paragraph… why am I still surprised, and why do I doubt or forget to believe (mind stuck in the rut of every-day , worldly thinking)? Thanks for posting!
    Lisa B.


Leave a Reply

Categories

