Posted by: goingfaraway | September 22, 2011

C. S., how I love thee

Dear Clive Staples Lewis,

Hi. You don’t know me, but I think if we were to bump into each other in a coffee shop, we would probably become friends. Actually, you’re more of a pub kind of guy, so instead of my usual non-fat extra hot skinny latte, I would let you buy me a pint at the place around the corner, and then I would offer you one of my great grandpa’s pipes (they smell funny), and we would talk until 2am. But really, if I actually approached you I would probably be so scared nothing would come out of my mouth – nothing intelligent, anyway. Which is the very reason I like you. And is also the reason I’m writing to you instead of talking to you. And you’re dead, so the first option isn’t an option anyway. Thanks for saving me the humiliation of a face-to-face conversation. You are very gracious. Anyway, on to what I really want to tell you.

You, dear sir, put into words what my soul tries to articulate, but just can’t pull together to express in a way that makes sense to the world at large.  I like you because you are a Christian. You are an author. But you are not a Christian author. You use your mind to love God. You remind me that theology and thinking and living all go together. I appreciate that.

That’s all I wanted to say. Thanks for reading.

Love,

Me.

In all seriousness, I do appreciate the thoughts of C. S. Lewis. God used his writings to change the way I think and make me a more effective minister of the gospel. And although I’m no where close to being an apologist, reading Mere Christianity bolstered my confidence in knowing how to stand up for what I believe in, and put my belief system into words that can actually be understood by normal people, instead of depending on christian jargon to express myself.

If you haven’t read Mere Christianity, I highly recommend it. It might stretch your brain a little (or you’re probably smarter than me, so it might not), but it’s good exercise. I’m re-reading said book, and today this quote regarding the free will of humankind jumped off the page at me….

“The happiness which God designs for His higher creatures is the happiness of being freely, voluntarily united to Him and to each other in an ecstasy of love and delight compared with which the most rapturous love between a man and a woman on this earth is mere milk and water. And for that they must be free.”

I think that’s just beautiful. A complex topic put in words that are personal. I want to learn how to do that. I want to learn how to think. I want to honor God with all of my thinking. I long for a few drops from the ocean that is the wisdom & knowledge of our God.

Lord, teach me how to love you with all of my heart, soul, MIND and strength today [Luke 10:27].

Leave a Reply

Categories

