Posted by: goingfaraway | October 5, 2011

Always becoming

“I am not what I ought to be.

I am not what I want to be.

I am not what I hope to be.

But still, I am not what I used to be.

And by the grace of God, I am what I am.”

– John Newton

Thank you, Priscilla, for bringing these words to my attention. Mr. Newton was definitely on to something. What an encouragement that we don’t have to despair over who we are today (because we all know that we could be better). Instead of despairing, we can take joy in the process of becoming. Ever changing, always growing. Being pruned back so we can thrive. I can like me because God likes me, and even delights in me. He created me in His very image (Gen 1:27). If I am good, it is because God is good.

“Beloved, we are God’s children now, and what we will be has not yet appeared; but we know that when he appears we shall be like him, because we shall see him as he is. And everyone who thus hopes in him purifies himself as he is pure.”
– 1 John 3:2-3

Growing and hoping in the gracious Father as I walk through this life with one hand in His, and a coffee in the other,

Kara

Responses

  1. Hi Kara,
    My husband Tom often refers to the idea in your post as the “Popeye Position”, “…I am what I am and that’s all what I am….” Oh if we could just wrap our heads around His bounty toward us!!!

    We are planning on going to Ireland next April(we make our plans but the Lord knows the outcome:-) and I took notes from the pictures of you and your sister. So Skerries is on the coast, north of Dublin…right? I am now getting acquainted with the cities! We are planning and praying!


Leave a Reply

Categories

