Posted by: goingfaraway | February 7, 2012

Worship in the wee hours

It’s been hours since I first got in bed. Hours. For the last few weeks I’ve been struggling with insomnia – a problem I’ve never had before. It’s maddening, especially when I get into bed at a decent hour, without having had any caffeine. This morning, God has reset my mind, and is helping me redeem this sleeplessness. Enjoying His presence in the small hours of the morning is so sweet. I’m hiding under the covers with my laptop. My headphones are in, my two current favorite worship songs on a loop. I figure this is a good time to jot down a few things the Gentle Teacher has brought to my attention in the last few days.

5 The LORD is exalted, for He dwells on high; He has filled Zion with justice and righteousness. 6 And He will be the stability of your times, A wealth of salvation, wisdom and knowledge; The fear of the LORD is his treasure.

Isaiah 33:5-6

This is one of those passages I know I must have read before, but this time I actually paid attention to it. How amazing, wonderful, comforting it is to know that God is my stability. He offers His wisdom freely if we ask Him (James 1:5). Often, when we think of the word “stability” we think of finances. I do too. Coincidentally, my pastor taught on stewardship this past Sunday, and I left the sanctuary feeling convicted and excited all at the same time. Excited because of the reality that God is the source of everything I have. He is the giver of all good things. Convicted because most of the time I don’t live like this is true. I leave tithing to the last minute, rather than giving off the top. I buy coffees out instead of using that $10/week on so many other worthwhile causes that actually contribute to building the Kingdom.

As I sat and listened to the sermon, God gave me this picture: We (his people) are channels of water. Not one drop stays put, and there’s a continuous flow going out to various places. But the stream is always being replenished. There is no limit to the supply. The contrast is a stagnant pool of water. It might have started out fresh and clean, but without anywhere to go, it became stinky, slimy, gross. Not a source of refreshment. God has created us to be conduits for His refreshing waters. The more we trust that He is our source, and the replenisher of our resources, the more we will be able to give away.

 

So, God is my stability, my resource replenisher, my sustainer, my treasure. I’m done being a stinky pond. I’m ready to be a river of life.

Peace to you this morning in the love of the Father.

All for Him, because it’s all His,

Kara

Leave a Reply

Categories

