Posted by: goingfaraway | March 12, 2012

A Warrior’s Woman

I’ve been jaded by the dozens of how-to-be-satisfied-in-God-as-a-single-woman publications out there. There are too many. And too many of them are trite and uninspiring. I quit reading them because they made me feel worse.

Prompted by my sister’s recommendation, I decided to take a different approach and read a how-to-be-a-man book:

ImageI

“Discovering the secret of a man’s soul.” Now, that’s something I want to read. Please, enlighten me, John Eldredge. Oh boy, did he ever.

I finished reading it last week. It evoked several thoughts and feelings….like, when I have boys someday I’m going to let them play in the mud, shoot guns, and punch kids who bully them…..but mostly I felt sad. Sad because of the realization that our culture has emasculated men, stripped away the very qualities instilled in them by God to be fighters, providers, protectors, warriors. Instead, our culture (including the church) tells boys to sit still, be quiet, and wait patiently for the day they grow up to be nice guys. Nice Guys? Really? That’s all? There has to be something more, something thrilling. And there is. Thomas A Kempis stated that “if we would endeavor, like men of courage, to stand in the battle, surely we would feel the favorable assistance of God from heaven. For He who giveth occasion to fight, to the end we may get the victory, is ready to succor [help] those that fight manfully, and do trust in His grace.” Real men fight. Real men trust in God’s grace. They worship a God who is “Wild, dangerous, unfettered & free.” (W. Brueggemann) Warriors for Jesus.

I want to be a warrior’s woman. Someone’s partner in the Adventure. I am not the adventure, or a destination. And neither will a warrior be my end or fulfillment. I’m not on the hunt for a nice guy. But I am paying attention to see if there are any warriors in process out there. I pray that God will help me to encourage the men around me to fulfill God’s calling for their lives in the great adventure that is following Jesus.

“Lord, let your dreams come true. Dream through us.”

-Rend Collective Experiment

Responses

  1. This is good. Thank you for sharing this Kara. I too am paying attention to find a warrior to live the adventure of life with. Not just a nice guy. I liked reading what you wrote about that. Love ya.


Leave a Reply

Categories

