Posted by: goingfaraway | March 29, 2013

Car Songs…or Sermons

 

For most of March the theme of my life was struggle, battle, hurt, try to just be okay, struggle again, try to be fine (which of course, really means freaked-out, insecure, neurotic & emotional), etc. As I heard in a song today, I had become the villain in my own story. But in the last week I’ve been enjoying what it means to live in the truth. I’m returning to a good theme of joy, hope – victory.

I know that God ministers to us in so many ways, but there were a few that I know for sure helped me on my way to living in the truth of who I am as a daughter of God: Steve and Wendy Backlund, Daniel Self, (both of these messages are great if you’re driving 10 hours to visit your grandparents in Arizona) and my dad (best consulted in person). All of these people, whether through sermons or one-on-one conversations, reminded me of who I am, who I am becoming, and that I have to fight to be that person. Fight the lies. Fight the enemy himself. And then live in truth. Speak the very truth of God OUT LOUD, like, with yo mouth, fool.

I’ve declared several times that 2013 is going to be my best year ever. The last few weeks have not been so amazing, but the struggle is not in vain, and I am thankful that I get to take the truth I’ve re-learned and carry it with me into the rest of this best-est year.

And now, it’s time for a song. Something fun but a little sad, too.

Leave a Reply

Categories

